Thursday, October 13, 2011

Necron superweapon Rumors

Thanks to Faeitt 212 for finding this new info Via Yackface.

OK so yesterday a new rumor started flying around about Necrons. I chose to ignore it because it was so overpowered it had to be fake. I don't think even Matt Ward could get away with the weapon, but there is a new develpoment that sounds plausable. So I will start with yesterdays Rumor, from Bell of lost souls. Then I will post todays version. Please remember to take with salt this is a rumor.

Rumor has it that a new Necron shooting attack can cause large swaths of your opponent’s army to die in a new interesting way. How it works is simple…

1.Necron Shoots Unit
2.Necron Hits Unit
3.Necron player allocates where the wound will be (how this is worded I have no idea)
4.All identical models to the one just shot are now hit
5.Roll to wound all models that are identical
6.Make armor saves were applicable
Here is an example. I shoot Necron weapon at a squad of Long Fangs. I hit and chose my wound to be rolled on a Missile Launcher Long Fang. All Missile Launcher Long Fangs IN THE ENTIRE ARMY are now hit. Now think take this a step further. What if I shoot a Ork Boy?

Here is the other way this weapon could work.

1.Necron Shoots Unit
2.Necron Hits Unit
3.Even though I only hit once I roll to wound every model in that unit.
4.Opponent makes armor saves where applicable
Now this doesn’t sound as scary as the first example, but it is basically GK Cleansing Fire power for Necrons. This version also fits in with chatter about multiple weapons that deal with horde armies.
Enter highly speculative realm that shouldn’t be taken as facts.

My fear though is that both these rumors are true. Here is a way it could potential work. One type of Necron gets the lesser version of the weapon, another Necron lets us say a Special Character gets the power to strike at all identical models army wide. I have a feeling that either way this weapon will be short-range, one shot, low str, and no ap value otherwise we are looking at some game breaking territory.

So that was Yesterdays crazy rumor. Now here is the refined version floating around today.

via Yakface
Okay, a much more full description of the rule is like this:
This rule applies ONLY to the units the special Necron character is engaged with (it doesn't affect every model in the enemy army of the same type).

It happens after the Necron character has killed someone in combat and after all blows have been struck on both sides.

Roll a D6 for every type of model (friend or enemy) that the special character killed that turn. On a 4+ all other models in combat of that type take a wound (armor/inv saves can be taken as normal).

Example: If the Necron character kills an Ork Slugga boy in close combat and got the 4+ roll, all other Slugga boyz in the same combat would take a wound, but NOT the nob (as he's a different type of model). Any Shoota boyz, for example, in the same combat would be unaffected as well. If he killed a marine and got the roll, all other marines would take a wound, but not the vet sgt, etc.

It would seem that if this Necron was fighting against another Necron player, then he has the potential to hurt his own forces if the same type of units were facing off; if he was attached to a unit of warriors that was fighting against an enemy unit of warriors, for example.

No comments:

Post a Comment